COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF DENTAL MEDICINE

THE SIXTH ANNUAL

DEAN'S HONORS DAY

DECEMBER 3, 2020

Celebrating CDM Faculty Accomplishments 9/1/2019–8/31/2020

COLUMBIA

Congratulations to the College of Dental Medicine (CDM) faculty who are being honored for their achievements, and special thanks to Dr. Lalla for her leadership in support of the faculty.



We are proud to celebrate with those members of our faculty who were promoted and/or recognized for their contributions during the past academic year (2019-2020). While we honor the individual contributions, we are also cognizant of the impact that each honoree makes to the reputation of CDM at-large. It is the pursuit of excellence that distinguishes Columbia from many other institutions of higher education. Being part of the Columbia community, CDM is

aware of the mandate that is imposed on us.

Dean's Honors Day is intended to support the promotion of a culture whereby we acknowledge and cherish the achievements of our faculty in terms of transformational scholarship, excellence in patient care, and exceptional service contributions. May it inspire all of us to strive for more.

Sincerely,

Christian Stohler, DMD, DrMedDent

Dean

ACADEMIC PROMOTIONS

TO ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

Philip Kang, DDS Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Associate Professor of Dental Medicine at the Columbia University Medical Center

Alia Koch, DDS, MD Section of Hospital Dentistry Associate Professor of Dental Medicine at the Columbia University Medical Center

TO ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

Mona Boside, DMD Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences Assistant Professor of Dental Medicine at the Columbia University Medical Center

Angela Ward, EdD Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Assistant Professor of Dental Medicine at the Columbia University Medical Center

Charles Wei, DDS, MPH Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Assistant Professor of Dental Medicine at the Columbia University Medical Center

COLLEGE OF DENTAL MEDICINE

Luz Marina Aguirre, DMD Director, Community DentCare Program

Nurit Bittner-Fogel, DDS, MS Interim Director, Division of Prosthodontics

Bridget Ferguson, DDS Assistant Dean, Admissions and Career Planning

James B. Fine, DMD Chief Practice Director, Faculty Practices

Roseanna Graham, DDS, PhD, MA *Chair, Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences*

Philip Kang, DDS Interim Director, Predoctoral Periodontics

Joseph McManus, DMD, MS, MHA, MBA Senior Associate Dean, Admissions

Biana Roykh, DDS, MPH Senior Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs & Dental Director Columbia University Healthcare Component

Lynda Torre, DDS Interim Director, Health and Safety

Center for Dental and Craniofacial Research

Mildred C. Embree, DMD, PhD Associate Director

Chang Lee, PhD Associate Director

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, PhD Director

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IRVING MEDICAL CENTER & NEWYORK-PRESBYTERIAN

Alia Koch, DDS, MD Section of Hospital Dentistry Director, NewYork-Presbyterian LEAD Academy

CUIMC Committee to Address Structural Racism

Luz Marina Aguirre, DMD Section of Growth & Development Member, Healthcare, Disparities, and Solutions Research Working Group

Steven Chussid, DDS Section of Growth & Development Member, Civility and Professionalism Working Group

John H. Evans, DDS Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Member, Community and Public Service Working Group

George E. Jenkins, DMD, MHA

Section of Growth & Development Member, Community and Public Service Working Group

Carol Kunzel, PhD, MA Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences *Member*,

Healthcare, Disparities, and Solutions Research Working Group

Evanthia Lalla, DDS, MS

Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Member, Faculty Recruitment, Retention, Advancement, and Leadership Working Group

Biana Roykh, DDS, MPH

Section of Hospital Dentistry Member, Clinical Care Working Group

Dana L. Wolf, DMD, MS

Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Member, Anti-racism Education/Training Working Group & Civility and Professionalism Working Group

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY

Columbia University Faculty Liaison Network, National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine's Action Collaborative on Preventing Sexual Harassment in Higher Education

Evanthia Lalla, DDS, MS Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Representative, College of Dental Medicine

Dana L. Wolf, DMD, MS Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Representative, College of Dental Medicine

NATIONAL

Sharon C. Perelman, DDS, MMI

Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences Member,

EPIC Steering Board for Dentistry

COLLEGE OF DENTAL MEDICINE

Thomas J. Boyle, DMD Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences *The Edward V. Zegarelli Teaching Award, CDM Alumni Association*

Carol Kunzel, DMD, PhD Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Melvin L. Moss Senior Faculty Award, CDM Alumni Association

Dennis P. Tarnow, DDS Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Dr. Stanislaw H. Brzustowicz Faculty Award, CDM Alumni Association

CDM Junior Faculty Development Fund Recipients

Jeffrey Cloidt, DDS Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences

Mina M. Faiek, DMD Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences

Jocelyn P. Magahis, DDS Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences

Charles Wei, DDS, MPH Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences

CDM Implant Fellows

Laila Akhlaghi, DDS, BSc Section of Hospital Dentistry

Ioana L. Chesnoiu Matei, DDS, MSc Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences

Shannon Sullivan, DDS Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences

Michael McKenzie, DDS Section of Cariology & Restorative Sciences

Jaffer Shariff, DDS, MS, MPH Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences

Charles Wei, DDS, MPH Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IRVING MEDICAL CENTER

Bridget Ferguson, DDS

Section of Hospital Dentistry Participant, CUIMC Leadership and Management Course for Faculty

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY

Yiping Han, PhD Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Accelerating Cancer Therapeutics Pilot Award, Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center

Fatemeh Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, MS, MPH Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Translational Therapeutics Accelerator Pilot Award, Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research

REGIONAL

Dennis P. Tarnow, DDS

Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Jerome M. and Dorothy Schweitzer Research Award, Greater New York Academy of Prosthodontics

NATIONAL

College of Dental Medicine 2019 Health Professions Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award, INSIGHT Into Diversity Magazine

Bridget Ferguson, DDS

Section of Hospital Dentistry Fellow, American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Leadership Institute

Yiping Han, PhD

Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Finalist, Equalize 2020 Pitch Competition and Symposium

Evanthia Lalla, DDS, MS

Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Periodontal Research Group Councilor, American Association for Dental Research (AADR)

Fatemeh Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, MS, MPH

Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship, American Association for Dental Research (AADR)

Michael Perrino, DDS, MD Section of Hospital Dentistry Fellow, American College of Surgeons

Dennis P. Tarnow, DDS Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Charles Pincus/Ronald Goldstein Lifetime Achievement Award, American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry

INTERNATIONAL

James B. Fine, DMD

Section of Oral, Diagnostic & Rehabilitation Sciences Member, International College of Dentists

